Love across the seas
 
It was one of those uneventful Monday nights when you’re at the mall running errands and suddenly you find yourself hungry. So you hie off to the nearest fast food place to grab a quick bite.  And that’s where I saw him as I was standing in line waiting for my order.  The sight of him talking to his beloved, perhaps over FaceTime immediately warmed my heart. So took the table next to him and watched, and okay, tried to listen in 🙂 

The exchange inspired a Facebook post which I put up at 8AM this morning. And it read…

I watched him quietly as he sat across her while eating his dinner. I couldn’t help but overhear. He was fully engaged, laughing at her jokes, and listening intently to her stories. She looked at him as she ate her pancakes and giggled at his jokes. It was a heartwarming sight to behold in the middle of a crowded fast food outlet. Oblivious and insulated from the sounds around him, only her stories and the sound of her voice mattered. 

“Ang cute ninyo,” I couldn’t help but tell him as I was about to leave. He grinned from ear to ear. A young man so in love. They shared a meal twice a day, he told me, it was now breakfast in her corner of the world. They had been apart for two years now, and always looked forward to beginning and ending their day with one another. Next year, he would finally be able to follow to where she was. 

Meanwhile, across their table, sat another couple, fully engaged with their phones as they finished their meal. Together, but apart. 

The blessing and curse of technology can either make you, or break you. Choose wisely.

And to my great shock the post went viral like crazy. Like it began to take a life of its own.

Twelve hours later, at 8PM this evening it had 20,000 likes and had been shared 5000 times! as of this writing, a few minutes before midnight, it’s at 40,000 likes and shared 12,300 times! Truly mind boggling! 

I’m trying to discern now what it is about this story that seems gto have resonated in the hearts and minds of so many.  It’s a beautiful and simple, authentic love story between two people across the miles. Could it be that it’s a story and a scenario shared by many others? What do you think is the story’s appeal? 

As this story becomes even more viral, I’m hoping to find out more about this couple. I should’ve asked for their names but I didn’t want to intrude so much. I’m pretty sure that theirs would be a love story worth sharing with the world.  I felt it last night, and saw it in their faces and in the light in their eyes. Whoever you are, thank you for giving us a glimpse of your love for one another. May technology and your love for each other, whether together or apart, continue to bind you. I truly wish the both of you well. 

2 thoughts on “The Story of Us

  1. “The blessing and curse of technology can either make you, or break you. Choose wisely.” One of the line that really gets to me. I believe others readers felt the same.

    Like

Leave a comment